At Play · At Work

Work and Play in Nome Alaska: Deanna Jackson, Emergency Department Nurse Manager

img_4993

Hello, my name is Deanna and I am the ED Nurse Manager.  I am originally from Washington state and have been a nurse for eight years with a passion for pediatric and emergency nursing.

J.R.R. Tolkien’s quote, “Not all those who wander are lost” resonates with many Registered Nurses, myself included.  Thankfully, nursing is a field that provides tumbleweed souls the opportunity to combine a passion for nursing with the desire to explore.  I’ve worked in several states and have spent the last five years in various parts of rural Alaska.fullsizerender

I arrived in Nome in September 2014 as a contract emergency room nurse and quickly realized this small piece of Alaska would be my new home.  Summers consist of biking, bonfires, and sea glass hunting while winter brings the wonder of the northern lights and the opportunity to ride my snowmachine to work and the grocery store.

The community of Nome is welcoming and active with many activities planned throughout the year.  You’re only bored in Nome if you choose to be.

img_4060

Leave a comment