At Play · At Work

Work and Play in Nome Alaska: Karen Walls, Chief of Nursing

karen-play-pic
Spring Break Up on the Bering Sea…
blog-photo-karen
Acute Care Unit

Greetings from Nome Alaska! I’m Karen Walls, the Chief Nursing Officer here at Norton Sound. I came to NSHC in January of 2013 as a travel nurse in the ED.  My husband and I have both been with the hospital as permanent staff members since August 2013. We are originally from the Midwest where our families still reside. Two of our grandchildren and our son have made the journey to spend time with us here in Nome and experience the adventure of the Last Frontier.

My favorite time of the year is the spring when break up comes. The ice and snow of the winter gives way to the entry of spring when the tundra comes into bloom showing the colors and life of spring. This is an old picture but I love the idea that I am standing on an iceberg!!!

Leave a Reply

